31 Days of MettaTravels #Day4: Mercury Falling

I am still recovering from the flu and my head is all woozy from the drugs so this one will be short one (hopefully!).  Yesterday, the mountains were calling me, and I was missing the winter chill in Bangalore.  And although I was born in the summer months, my heart is softest and warmest in the cold winter months.  Today, the Universe presented me with a perfect misty winter morning and as I breathed in clouds of vapor, the troubles of yesterday seemed so far away.

“Picture”: This one is from a land (Leh, Ladakh) where I have left pieces of my heart every single time I have visited it. It’s a land of moonscapes and soulscapes, where every sunrise and every sunset is a moveable feast. 

Grateful for all the memories of my trips to Ladakh that make my heart smile big.  Grateful for the padma guest house, and although it’s been eight years since my last visit, I know it’s a home away from home for me.  Grateful for this moment when the sun, the clouds and the mountains came together in perfect symphony and all I can do is sit and stare.

“We sit together, the mountain and me,
Until only the mountain remains.” – Li Po

“Quote”:  I have always loved the imagery in these beautiful words -a tiny, resilient golden seed of summer buried deep in the warm, fuzzy winter soil: gestating and germinating while the world takes on winter hues.

It’s a beautiful ode to the fire of potential and resilience within each one of us, and I believe this is a quote that speaks to each one of us differently depending on the season of life that we are experiencing.

Grateful for the light and warmth of summers, but also to the fertility of the deepest dark of a winter’s night.

“My dear,
In the midst of hate, I found there was, within me, an invincible love.
In the midst of tears, I found there was, within me, an invincible smile.
In the midst of chaos, I found there was, within me, an invincible calm.
I realized, through it all, that…
In the midst of winter, I found there was, within me, an invincible summer.
And that makes me happy. For it says that no matter how hard the world pushes against me, within me, there’s something stronger – something better, pushing right back.
Falsely yours,
Albert Camus”

To learn more about metta and 31 days of mettatravels click here and here

My love song to the skies and misty mountains of Leh is posted here

Leave a comment