Somewhere between Heaven and Earth

During my last trip to Leh one of the locals told me that Ladakh is supposed to have 300 days of clear skies and 65 days of clouds. Staring into the brilliant blue infinity that stretched in front of me it was difficult for me believe that even a single wisp of cloud would dare to provide a contrast to the azure skies. So, this time around when I planned my trip to Leh in May I was excited about the prospect of rain and maybe even snow as predicted. And I was not disappointed – the seven days that I spent in Leh, the weather gods granted my wishes and more. All I could do was stare at the veritable feast for mind and soul.

img_1412

First day at Padma. The Stok mountain range that had looked all pristine and benign during our last trip were hardly visible this time. Strangely though it was a sight that soothed the nerves of the a soul tortured by Delhi summers.

IMG_1433

Tsemo (Red) Gompa and the ruins of Victory fort perched atop a hill overlooking Leh town with a Buddhist flag in the foreground. The thick cloud cover gives the impression that the Ladakh range that frames north Leh has magically disappeared.
IMG_1654
Suddenly there was a break in the clouds giving a glimpse of the blue that I had ogled and taken for granted during the last trip. This picture was taken on one of the bike trips to Victory fort perched on top of the Tsemo Gompa.
img_1636
After two days of cloudy skies a bright almost clear morning with the peaks sunning themselves in all their glory. The tall green poplar trees provided the perfect contrast to the sky. Staring at this picture in the artificially cooled environs makes me the eternal question -“What am I doing here?” or even better “Why am I not there?”
img_1586
Early morning sun on the Stok Kangri peak rising majestically at 20135 ft higher that most mountain peaks in North Amerian and marginally lower (by 200 ft) than the famous Mt. McKinley. Apparently, on clear days one can see K2 in the Karakoram range to the north and himalayan range stretching to the south from the summit.
img_1588
Sunset on a clear day from Padma
IMG_1587
Skyfull of Monet – Vanilla Sky

 

Dates Traveled – 17th May 2010- 23rd May 2010

Words from the Wise:

1. Not much -take a deep breath, turn off your sundry I-devices and Enjoy!

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a comment